Print    Close This Window
Eighth Grade Awards
IMS Eighth Grade Awards2
Independence Middle School eighth grade students were recognized for academic, musical, and leadership achievements at the 2023 Eighth Grade Awards Program.
 Receiving recognition at this event were:
  • American Legion Award: Cami Fisher and Colton Fisher
  • Sgt. Russell Kurtz Patriotism Award: David Gratton and Tanner Lisak
  • Bethel Woman’s Club Award: Romane Crepieux and Evarett Briggs
  • Principal’s Award: Miriam Anderson and Tyler Miller 
  • Assistant Principal’s Award: Santino Nowozeniuk and Payton Purcell
  • Counselor’s Award: Isabella Grooms and Carlow Walker
  • National Junior Honor Society Outstanding Achievement Award: Nathan Purcell
  • World Language Awards: 
    • Spanish: Francesca Balkovec, Nora Cooley, Charlotte Jaszcar, Ella Krisfalusky, Krysten Lam, Jacob Patterson, Nathan Purcell, Emily Reid, Lucia Sciullo, Nevinka Silva Ratnayke, Mackenzie Smock and Colin Uhl
    • French: Maura Blum, Liliana Cantofanti, Cayden Chilenski and Gianna Young
    • Latin: Kaedon Clark and Sophia Willis
    • German: Zoey Roberts, Jaden Veinovich, Connor Blocklin and Sydney Miller
  • Global Mindset Award: Romane Crepieux 
  • Fine Arts Awards: Francesca Balkovec, Alexander Bielozer, Liam Coll, Reagan Finnell, David Gratton, Max Janosik, Charlotte Jaszcar, Julian Lubawy and Haley Walters
  • Nancy Gleason Gavola Award in Drama: Riley Philage and Sophia Willis 
  • Suzanne Reid Music Award: Jaden Veinovich
  • Stephen Chbosky Writing Award: 
    • Argumentative: Hasini Chava
    • Narrative: Michael Hladio 
  • Marissa Boylan Scholar-Athlete Award: Brayden Bruckner and Cami Fisher
  • IMS Athletic Academic Award: 8th Grade Girls Soccer Team
  • Spirit of Independence Award: David Gratton
  • Stephanie Petit Award: 
    • Team Integrity: Liam Coll and Sarah Viola
    • Team Liberty: Lily McDonald and Nathan Purcell
    • Team Freedom: Liliana Centofanti and Kai Roule