header logo
header logo text
MISSION: To lead an educational partnership with the Community, maintaining an environment that challenges all students to reach their potential as lifelong learners and responsible members of society.

BPHS Students Earn 15 Awards At DECA International Competition

← Back Print This Article

Bethel Park High School students came home with 15 awards from the DECA International Career Development Conference, which was held in Orlando, FL April 26 through May 1, including one Second Place Award, one Top 20 Finalist Award, 11 Awards of Excellence and two Medallion Awards.

Over 20,000 students from the United States and 10 other countries participated in this event.  Students competed against at least 200 other students or teams in each event.
Junior Caleb Shook finished in Second Place in the Human Resources Management event, and also earned an Award of Excellence for meeting all standards of performance, and two Medallion Awards for finishing in the Top 10 in the Test and Role Play B portions of the competition.
Sophomore Michael Conroy was a Top 20 Finalist and an Award of Excellence recipient in the Public Relations Plan event, representing teammates Julia Casaldi, Amber Simeone and Makayla Yee, who were unable to attend the conference.
Also earning Awards of Excellence were senior Tyler Andreis and junior Mark Vighetti (Buying and Merchandising Operations Research), senior Alexis Schanck and junior Brian Torles (Hospitality and Tourism Operations Research); juniors Jenna Chernicky and Sarah Gilliam (Financial Literacy Promotion Plan), Marissa Christenson (Community Service Project), Hunter Dorfner (Hospitality and Tourism Operations Research), Olivia Greene (Creative Marketing Plan), Brenna Manko (Community Service Project); and sophomores Morgan Beardsley and Lianna Robbins (Entrepreneurship Innovation Plan) and Nick Massari and Ryan Puskar (Entrepreneurship Promotion Plan).
The students were prepared for this competition by Bethel Park High School Marketing Teachers Emily Smoller and Maria Christenson.