header logo
header logo text
MISSION: To lead an educational partnership with the Community, maintaining an environment that challenges all students to reach their potential as lifelong learners and responsible members of society.

IMS' Eighth Grade Awards

← Back Print This Article

Independence Middle School eighth grade students were recognized for a variety of academic, musical and leadership achievements at the 2022 Eighth Grade Awards Program.
 Receiving recognition at this event were:
  • American Legion Award: Kiley Flanigan and Parker Walton
  • Sgt. Russell Kurtz Patriotism Award: Caleb Bush, Peter Eliopoulos and Nathan George
  • Bethel Woman’s Club Award: Elliett Briggs and Charlotte Gaston
  • Principal’s Award: Ashlyn Schmidt and Parker Walton 
  • Assistant Principal’s Award: Joseph Williams and Grace Perdziola
  • Counselor’s Award: TaHaera Griffin and Sean Rovers
  • National Junior Honor Society Outstanding Achievement Award: Grace Perdziola
  • World Language Awards: 
Spanish: Kaelyn Weber, Tyler Benlock, Charlotte Gaston, Laura Casaldi, Jacalyn Kalogeris, Caden Smith, Sarah Jakel, Ankith Acharya, Julia Bitkowski and Kiley Flanigan
French: Ava Cerro, Joanna Little, Andrew Hughes, Caroline Zelt, Lucy Martin-Farmer and Owen Turoski
Latin: Micah Antonich and Callee Dalbon
German: Jason Koerbel, Sadie Nelson, Christian Tabler and Katharine Tabler
  • Fine Arts Awards: Holly McGough, Caden Smith, Peyton Michaels, Nathan George, Kiley Flanigan, Elizabeth Corrins, Andrew Hughes, Joanna Little, Halie Minor, Scotlyn Paxton and Ashlyn Schmidt
  • Nancy Gleason Gavola Award in Drama: Sadie Nelson (Peter Pan & Annie) and Broghan Reeder (Captain Hook & Rooster)
  • Suzanne Reid Music Award: Holly McGough and Katharine Tabler
  • Stephen Chbosky Writing Award: Sadie Nelson (Argumentative) and Ariel Dunworth (Narrative)
  • Marissa Boyan Scholar-Athlete Award: Callee Dalbon and Owen Turoski
  • IMS Athletic Academic Award: 8th Grade Girls Basketball Team
  • Spirit of Independence Award: Margaret Rabb
  • Stephanie Petit Award: 
    • Team Integrity: Madeline Masztak and Colton Wahl
    • Team Liberty: Kiley Flanigan and David Dennison
    • Team Freedom: Holly McGough and Caden Smith