header logo
header logo text
MISSION: To lead an educational partnership with the Community, maintaining an environment that challenges all students to reach their potential as lifelong learners and responsible members of society.

NHS Inducts 83 New Members

← Back Print This Article

The Bethel Park High School Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 83 new members, including five seniors, 14 juniors, and 64 sophomores, at a ceremony that was held on Thursday, March 24, 2022, in the Bethel Park High School auditorium.  

 To be eligible for induction, students had to have a 3.85 cumulative GPA, perform a minimum of 25 hours of community service over the course of one year prior to induction, demonstrate leadership and submit a letter of recommendation from Bethel Park High School faculty. Applicants were also asked to write an essay on a time when their character was challenged, which was reviewed by the NHS Faculty Council.
Participating in the Induction Ceremony were seniors Nicholas Como, Kelton Kramer, Janel Nguyen, Kaitlyn Wiard and Theodore Wicker.
The junior class inductees included Diksha Adhikari, Leah Armstrong, Alayna Banks, Mary Boff, Kelsey Caldwell, Aidan Campbell, Jasper Harter-Hughes, Ashley Heath, Ella Huebner, Haiden Hunter, Anna Marie Lorenzi, Penelope Pandolfo, Madison Skaris and Elliana Stranko.

 Sophomores Ava Arnold, Samuel Basile, Kaitlyn Becker, Julia Benlock, Emma Burke, Logan Burke, Alexandra Burt, Arabella Cicero, Bryce Clancy, Faith Clunan, Meghan DeHaven, Alexis Dorfner, Samantha Downing, William Eliopoulos, Katherine Erfort, Henry Gaston, Kendra Gibbons, Rebecca Gillenberger, Jesse Haefner, Ella Harmon, Lucas Hertzel, Ethan Hrycko, Megan Huwe, Ryland Jones, Hersh Kambli, Anthony Karner, Tyler Kellgren, Brooke Kessler, Savana Knauff, Tyler Kramer, Amber Kuss, Jenna Lang, Dylan Lawton, Lidia Lorenzi, April Lucidore, Danielle Mack, Michael Mathias, Lupe McElvenny, Micailla Metz, Grace Mowl, Luke Myers, Parker Nelson, Katie Peterson, Margaret Pivetz, Delaney Puskas, Cassandra Robinson, Meghan Rodgers, Madelyn Sams, Lacie Scheidler, Grace Skalniak, Alexander Smaroff, Emma Smith, Lily Spence, Isabella Stasik, Ava Swetoha, Alexandra Tekulve, Emma Thimons, Ryan Tierney, Nathan Tietz, Vanessa Troxell, Megan Turske, Angelina Velisaris, Makenzie Wade and Elena Wassil were also inducted. 

 Speaking on the four pillars of the National Honor Society were seniors Willow Hernishin, who spoke on Character; Keelan Donovan, Scholarship; Lily Gaston, Leadership and Jeon Varghese, Service. Donovan, the president of NHS, also encouraged this year's inductees to see opportunity in all of their choices. 
Bethel Park High School Principal, Mr. Joseph Villani considers NHS Induction one of the most important dates on the academic calendar. 
“We are very proud to welcome this year’s induction class and to recognize their accomplishments in academics, leadership and community service,” said Villani.  “In attaining this recognition, these students have established themselves as an excellent example of what our students are capable of achieving. We look forward to following their continued progress here at Bethel Park High School.”

 This year’s induction ceremony was immediately preceded by the 2022 Great Alumni Hall of Fame Induction ceremony. The honorees each shared a few brief words of wisdom and encouragement with the students and spoke a little bit about their own respective journeys.   
Bethel Park High School Science Teacher, Mr. Sean O’Brien is the Faculty Advisor to the National Honor Society.