header logo
header logo text
MISSION: To lead an educational partnership with the Community, maintaining an environment that challenges all students to reach their potential as lifelong learners and responsible members of society.

IMS To Receive STEPP Award

← Back Print This Article

Independence Middle School teachers Carol Chonoska, Kristen Fonda, Cara Hritz, Jennifer Makel and Principal David Muench will receive the 2017 Scott E. Folmer Memorial Student, Teacher and Exemplary Practice or Partnering (STEPP) Award in the School category.

This award, which is sponsored by the Local Task Force on the Right to education (LTF3), recognizes those who provide outstanding support to children who are receiving Special Education Services in Allegheny County.

The award will be presented on Wednesday, May 3 at Steel Valley High School.

They were nominated by parent Bob Doman, who has been impressed with how the IMS teachers have worked with his son, Brock, to help him grow academically. He also credits the regular communication with Mr. Muench to ensuring that his son is having a great experience at IMS.

“I nominated these individuals because they went above and beyond what would be expected to help my son,” said Mr. Doman. “Everyone at Independence Middle School is great. Everybody deserves credit for Brock’s success, and that’s why I nominated the school for this award.”

This is the sixth time that Bethel Park has received a STEPP Award since 2007. Previous winners include Independence Middle School Speech and Language Teacher Lynne Surrena (2014); former Franklin Elementary, now Bethel Park High School Special Education Teacher Jennifer Kaminski Yeckel (2012); retired Neil Armstrong Middle School Special Education Teacher Jean Harrington (2010); and Bethel Park High School students Alyssa Perkins (2007); Audrey Donnelly, Maggie Donnelly and Kaitlyn Wagner (2013).